Society Officers

For details about the roles of the officers and the process of their election, see the Society’s constitution and bylaws.


W. Matthew J. Simmons, PhD
University of South Carolina


Sean Busick, PhD
Athens State University, Alabama

Past President, 2018-2028
Colin Pearce, PhD
Clemson University, South Carolina

Sam Lackey, PhD
Great Basin College, Nevada

Katherine A. Burnett, PhD
Fisk University, Tennessee

John Miller, PhD
Longwood University, Virginia

Simms Review Editor
Todd Hagstette, PhD
University of South Carolina-Aiken

Past Society Presidents:

Jeffrey Rogers, PhD
Kevin Collins, PhD
John C. Guilds, PhD
Miriam Shillingsburg, PhD
David Moltke-Hansen, PhD
David Aiken, PhD
Matthew Brennan, PhD
Sean Busick, PhD